A Foodie's Journey

Kitchen Adventures for Home Cooks

Fish- A Cautionary Tale

leave a comment »

So Saturday night at our house is date night. We’re saving up for our wedding (which is a mere 8 months away!), so going out is becoming less of a thing for us. Lately, we’ve been doing “The North End at Our House”, making a big Italian dinner and sharing a bottle of wine. Delish, right? That was until a fateful Thursday night at the grocery store!

Normally, I’m not one for supermarket free samples. Well, that’s a lie. Usually, I eat the free sample, but it’s very rare that I buy the product, and even rarer that I actually make a dish with it. This was not the case with Whole Foods’ Panko, which you can find in the seafood department. I tried the Cod with sun dried tomato panko, and it was a party in my mouth. I told the woman that I had some mahi-mahi in the freezer, and she suggested that I use their spinach and chive panko. With that, I was on my way to a Saturday night date (without the North End, still with the wine- of course!). The sample used greek yogurt as a binder for the crumbs, which was great because I always have some on hand. But I’m not one for plain, and I felt like a plain greek yogurt would be, well, plain. I put my imagination to work, and here’s the recipe I came up with:

Herb- Panko Crusted Mahi-Mahi:

Ingredients

3/4 Pound Mahi Mahi Filets

1/4 Cup fat free greek yogurt

1 Tablespoon Dijon Mustard (I used Trader Joe’s Garlic Mustard Aoli)

1/4 Teaspoon Salt

3 Tablespoons Fresh Parsley, Chopped fine

1/3 Cup Whole Foods Spinach-Chive Panko Bread-crumbs

Directions

1. In a small bowl, mix together salt, mustard, and greek yogurt. Set aside.

2. In a shallow dish, mix together the bread-crumbs and parsley

3. Pat fish dry with paper towels, brush with the greek yogurt mixture, then dredge in the bread-crumbs. Cook in nonstick skillet that’s been coated with cooking spray until cooked through, approximately 4 minutes per side, depending on the thickness of your filets.

Easy enough, right? Here’s the cautionary tale: fish is fickle. If you are cooking it, you probably shouldn’t take a phone call. Especially a phone call from a close friend who lives across the country. I learned that this recipe does not reheat well, and should be eaten right away. Ryan and I agreed though, if we hadn’t tried to reheat it in the microwave, the flavor would have been perfect. C’est la vie!

We served it with my pan roasted brussels sprouts recipe. It’s one of my favorites:

Pan Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients

1 Pound of Brussels Sprouts, ends trimmed, halved or quartered, depending on size

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil

Salt, to taste

Crushed Red Pepper Flakes, to taste

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 400 Degrees. Place a cookie sheet in the oven while it is preheating.

2. Place all ingredients in a bowl. Toss to combine.

3. In a large nonstick skillet, sauté until slightly browned and about halfway cooked

4. Place the brussels sprouts on the preheated cookie sheet and roast until cooked, about 10 minutes longer.

NOTE: This recipe will be simpler if you own an oven safe pan. In that case, simply  sauté the sprouts in the pan, then place the pan in the hot oven. Hopefully someday soon, I will own such a pan. Until then, this method, while cumbersome, works well.

Both these recipes serve 2 people. Tomorrow: Valentine’s edition! Stay posted!

Written by csquaredfoodnews

February 13, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

